Search this site:


Ruminate is thrilled to announce our first annual Ruminate Nonfiction Prize.

The first place story will win a $500 prize and the runner-up will win a $50 prize.

The entry deadline is February 1st, 2011 and the finalist judge is award-winning author, Al Haley. (Haley is the published author of Home Ground: Stories of Two Families and the Land and Exotic: A Novel, winner of the John Irving First Novel Award, and his work has been published in publications including The New Yorker and The Atlantic Monthly.)For more details, please visit

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Creative Writing Contests.

Interactive Writing Prompts

My Books

Short Story Submissions

Read New Stories

Ask Your Questions

Character Name Generator

Creative Writing Activities

Literary Agents

Online Courses


Writing a Novel

Writing Contests

Writing Degrees

Writing Help Articles

Writing Library

Writing Process

Writing Prompts

Writing Quotations

Writing Resources

Writing Mentor